The Wisconsin Section currently has 7 standing committees. The standing groups represent ongoing yearly efforts by the Section. These groups typically handle awards, annual events, and routine Section functions. These groups of committees are summarized below.


    Harvey Shebesta Scholarship Award

    The Harvey Shebesta award is presented annually by the Section to encourage students to consider Transportation Engineering in their studies and career aspirations through financial support.

    Martin Bruening Award

    The Wisconsin Section offers to its members an annual award for papers in recognition of Mr. Bruening, who worked from 1924 until 1972 for the City of Milwaukee in the area of Traffic Engineering. Mr. Bruening was not only a leader in Milwaukee but was recognized as a national leader.

    Ken Voigt Young Members Annual Meeting Award

    The Young Members Award, sponsored by and funded by the ITE Wisconsin Section, recognizes achievement in transportation by younger transportation professionals who are members of ITE. The award will be given annually for a paper reporting on transportation activities.  Winners receive a registration and travel stipend to attend the ITE Annual Meeting.

    Young Professional Award

    The Young Professional award is presented annually by the Section to recognize the achievement of transportation professionals under the age of 35.  Applicants must submit an essay on a selected transportation topic.  Winners receive an award plaque presented at the Section Annual Meeting.

    Section Meeting

    Duties of the Committee include planning, organizing, and operating the meetings of the Wisconsin Section. This includes arranging for a speaker/program, arranging the venue/location, planning the menu, and handling signup and check in at the meeting.

    Traffic Engineering Workshop and Transportation Planning Forum

    The Traffic Engineering Workshop and Transportation Planning Forum committee oversees the planning of the annual one-day workshop each spring.

    Traffic Engineering Council

    The Council will be the professional network enabling policy development and review, and supporting communication and knowledge management between and among state and local traffic engineers in Wisconsin.